MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF SAN MIGUEL COUNTY NEW MEXICO HELD THURSDAY, JANUARY 8, 2015

ANNUAL COUNTY COMMISSION INSPECTION OF THE SAN MIGUEL COUNTY DETENTION CENTER

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chairman Nicolas T. Leger called the meeting to order at 11:00am. Upon a call of the roll, it was noted that all Commissioners were present and a Quorum was duly established and noted as follows: Chairman Nicolas T. Leger, Commissioners Rock G. Ulibarri, Marcellino A. Ortiz, Arthur J. Padilla and Gilbert J. B. Sena.

The one and only Item on the Agenda was introduced by County Manager Les W. J. Montoya. At this point Warden Patrick Snedeker took a moment to introduce the Staff and discuss the operations at the San Miguel County Detention Center as well the specific areas of services provided including but not limited to Health Care, Food Services and Confinement. Facility improvements, accreditation accomplishments were also discussed. County Manager Montoya included efforts supporting community involvement (San Miguel County Detention Center Citizens Advisory Committee) as well as development with local community resources and future financing programs for additional equipment.

During the discussion, the Commissioners questioned the turnover rate of corrections officers. Warden Snedeker assured the Commissioners that the turnover rate has been reduced significantly. It was also commented on by the Commissioners that there have been no escapes since Warden Snedeker took on the position of Warden. Chief of Security Antonio Padilla discussed the confinement procedures in place which assure the security of the Detention Center Facility.

The Commission and assembled staff toured the Detention Center Facility beginning at 11:30am. During the tour, explanations of the areas of operations were given and questions were asked throughout the tour.

Upon completion of the tour, lunch was served to the assembled Commissioners and staff.

Adjournment was call for by Chairman Leger at 1:05pm. A motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Padilla with a second provided by Commissioner Ulibarri.

MOVED, SECONDED AND ADPOTED this 13th day of January, 2015 by the San Miguel County Board of Commissioners as the official minutes of its special meeting held January 8, 2015.

Nicolas T. Leger
Chairman
San Miguel County Board of Commissioners

Rock G. Ulibarri
Commissioner District 1
San Miguel County Board of Commissioners

Marcellino A. Ortiz
Commissioner District 2
San Miguel County Board of Commissioners

Arthur J. Padilla
Commissioner District 3
San Miguel County Board of Commissioners

Gilbert J. B. Sena Commissioner District 4 San Miguel County Board of Commissioners